The Bridgwater And Taunton Canal
Taunton Angling Association own the fishing rights from Firepool lock Taunton where the canal enters the River Tone, to higher Durston (Upper Maunsell Lock). You can gain access from the road bridges in Taunton, Bathpool Hyde Lane, Creech St Michael, Durston and Upper Maunsell.
The canal boasts a stock of Roach, Rudd, Tench, Carp, Pike, Perch, Bream and Eels.
Please note – Fishing is not allowed in locks or within 25 metres of a lock entrance.
Fishing on the Canal is from the towpath side only !
The Canal is attractive and enjoyable but please take care, especially of children, when visiting the Canal and its Towpath, particularly near locks and weirs.
In 1827 the Bridgwater and Taunton canal was opened. The original route ran from Taunton and joined the River Parrett at Huntworth. The engineer for the canal was James Hollinsworth. In 1837 a further act was obtained authorizing the extension from Huntworth to Bridgwater and the building of the dock and its entrance lock to the River Parrett. The canal operated very successfully during this period.
The canal has been fully restored by British Waterways, with support from Somerset County Council and local district Councils.The bridges along with most structures have been recreated, as they were when the canal was in its prime.